Tokelau Islands

Islands in Oceania

Cook Islands

The Cook Islands is a self-governing state entity (in association with New Zealand) in the Pacific Ocean. The capital is Avarua.

The climate is tropical maritime. November-April is the rainy season. May-October is the dry season. The average temperature is +25*С.

To stay in the country up to 31 days, you only need a passport, a return ticket and cash. A visa is needed only if you stay on the islands for more than six months.

The main tourist islands of the archipelago are Rarotonga and Aitutaki.

Scattered across vast expanses of desert ocean the size of Western Europe, the tiny Cook Islands are the ultimate dream destination for any hermit.
If you’ve ever fantasized about escaping to a remote desert island, away from the hustle and bustle of the modern world, then these 15 islands are just for you.

Here, thousands of years of Polynesian culture exist side by side with some of the most spectacular natural scenery in the South Pacific.

Interesting facts

The archipelago was named by the Russian navigator Ivan Fedorovich Krusenstern in honor of the English traveler James Cook.

Spanish navigators became the first Europeans to reach the islands at the end of the 16th century.

Norfolk Island

Norfolk is a small island in the Pacific Ocean between Australia and New Zealand. It is the only non Australian self-governing external territory.

The capital is Kingston. The official language is English, Norfolk. Currency – Australian dollar. Religion – Anglicanism.

The climate is subtropical.

How about making a trip to the following coordinates – south latitude 29.03, east longitude 167.95. Doesn’t he talk about anything?
Then it’s worth taking a deep breath, stocking up on finances and immersing yourself in the pages of island life in an amazing place called Norfolk.

Norfolk Island is a speck of green in the South Pacific, 1,600 kilometers northeast of Sydney and 1,000 kilometers northwest of Auckland. The shores of Norfolk Island are high and steep. Gentle and low shores are mainly only in Sydney Bay and Emily Bay. There are no bays on the island that are protected from storms and hurricanes. The only more or less safe bay is Emily Bay, partially protected from the ocean by a coral reef.

The island has no railways, highways, ports or harbours. Norfolk Island Airport is the only airport on the island.

Interesting Facts

The island was discovered by Captain James Cook in 1774. Named after the Duchess of Norfolk.

Norfolk was a colony for criminals from England and Australia, known as one of the most brutal penal colonies in English history.

The island has no railways, highways, ports or harbours. There is an airport.

One of the few places outside of North America where Thanksgiving is celebrated.

Descendants of the famous Bounty rebels who now live on an isolated Pacific island have the lowest rate of myopia in the world. The study of this phenomenon may provide a clue to the genetic code of this disease.

Christmas Island

Christmas Island is an island in the Indian Ocean, an Australian outer territory.

The capital is Flying Fish Cove (Settlement). The official language is English. Currency – Australian dollar.

The climate is tropical. Temperature +28*С.

Christmas Island is similar in shape to ticks and represents almost half of the state of Kiribati. It is the largest coral atoll in the world. Santa Claus does not live here and reindeer do not graze, elves do not wrap gifts and there is not a single decorated Christmas tree.

Christmas Island is nothing but shimmering salt marshes and vibrant lagoons. It is open to all winds, planted with palm trees and incredibly empty. It is also one of the largest habitats for seabirds.


Tokelau is a territory in the Pacific Ocean administered by New Zealand. See Oceania countries.

The capital is Atafu. The official language is Tokelau, English, Samoan. Currency – New Zealand dollar.

Tokelau consists of three small islands of the archipelago of the same name, located in the Pacific Ocean between New Zealand and the Hawaiian Islands. The archipelago consists of four coral reefs arranged in a circle. These are the islands of Nukunonu, Fakaofo and Atafu, as well as Swains. The area of ​​the islands is 13.5 km2, the population of the archipelago is approximately 1500 people. The first three islands are part of the New Zealand dependent territory of Tokelau, and Swains Island is up to the US island territory of American Samoa.

Resorts and attractions in Tokelau

At first glance, this state does not differ significantly from other beautiful atolls in this part of the world, but Tokelau has something special: it is planned that this territory will become the first territory completely dependent on solar energy.

Income items – fishing, issue of stamps, coins,.tk domain zone.

Getting to Tokelau is not easy. The island has neither an airport nor coastal ports to facilitate travel between the territories and other islands and states. Only by boat or amphibian can you get to the atolls and move between them.

Atafu is one of the three atolls of Tokelau in the Pacific Ocean.

Nukunonu is the largest of the three atolls. It has a population of less than 500 inhabitants. The atoll has beautiful scenery, small forests and beaches near two main hotels.

Fakaofo is the third atoll in the Tokelau group. It also has beautiful nature and untouched tropical vegetation.

Interesting facts

The Tokelau Islands consist of three atolls – Atafu, Nukunonu and Fakaofo.

Despite the seclusion of territories in the Western Pacific, Tokelau has managed to become one of the most popular tourist destinations in the Polynesia region of the Western Pacific.

Tokelau was settled by Polynesians who migrated from the neighboring islands of Oceania. In 1889, the Tokelau Islands came under British protectorate. In 1925, Great Britain handed over the islands to New Zealand. From 1926-1948, the territories were part of Western Samoa, also a dependent territory of New Zealand. Under the 1948 Act, Tokelau remained under the control of New Zealand.

The inhabitants of the islands live off fishing and funds sent by relatives from abroad. More than 13,000 Tokelauans live outside the islands – more than 8,000 in New Zealand, 1,000 in Los Angeles, and others in the Hawaiian Islands and Australia.

The first Europeans to discover the island of Tokelau in 1765 were English sailors. Since 1889, the islands have belonged to Great Britain, since 1925, the islands of Nukunonu, Fakaofo and Atafu are part of New Zealand and have the status of a dependent territory, and Swains Island belongs to the United States.

Tokelau Islands