Ecuador Travel Guide
Latin America

Best Travel Time for Ecuador

Ecuador [ek  a ð ɔ r], Ecuador [on the position below the equator], officially Spanish República del Ecuador, German Republic of Ecuador, the state in the northwest of South America with (2018) 17.1 million residents; The capital is Quito.

According to allcitycodes, Ecuador in the southwest of South America is particularly known for its unique diversity and natural beauty. The different landscapes in particular have always fascinated and impressed visitors. Whether the huge Amazon region, the rugged Andean region, impressive volcanoes or interesting colonial cities : Ecuador has the right excursion destination for every taste.
The Pacific Ocean is also worth a visit! Here you will find dreamy coastal towns as well as numerous bathing opportunities.

The capital of Ecuador, Quito, is also particularly recommended. There you can marvel at a large number of old church buildings, among other things. The whole city is framed by the two mighty volcanoes Ruca and Guagua. It is not for nothing that this capital is a UNESCO World Heritage Site!

If you want to make your trip in Ecuador a little more active, you have the opportunity, for example, to explore the Andes or take some bike tours.

Culturally, Ecuador is very open. Numerous new media exist in the country. Until November 2007, the country’s television landscape was composed of private television stations.
One of the most famous TV channels in the country is Ecuavisa. The station is also received in the USA in the cable network. Ecuador TV, the first state TV broadcaster in Ecuador, has existed since November 2007. If you don’t care much about television, but rather reads, you should know that the most important and largest newspapers in Ecuador are El Universo and El Comercio.

Sport is also a hot topic in this country. The national soccer team is the most outstanding of all the teams in Ecuador. The country took part in soccer in the 2002 and 2006 World Cups, and in 2006 the Ecuador team even made it to the round of 16 of the World Cup.

Ecuador climate

There are generally only two seasons in Ecuador – the rainy season and the dry season – with significant differences between geographical regions. The temperature is largely determined by the altitude and is fairly evenly distributed all year round due to the proximity to the equator. In the Sierra, the day-night differences in temperatures are pronounced.

Even during the rainy season, most days are sunny until the afternoon. Outside of extreme altitudes (more than 4,800 m), precipitation almost always falls as rain or hail.
El Niño hits around once every ten years causes chaos in the road and rail connections of Ecuador

On the coast of Ecuador it is mostly cloudy throughout the year with daily maximum temperatures averaging around 30 ° C. The rainy season is short (between January and April) but very humid.

The dry season in the highlands is between June and the end of September and around Christmas, but it is not particularly rainy even in the wet season. In the Orient, it rains most months – August and December to March are usually the driest months. The Galápagos Islands are unusually dry for their equatorial location, with January to April often being hot and humid. The dry season between June and December is often cool and foggy.

On the southern coast there is precipitation of less than 250 mm per year, on the western slopes of the Andes of the Costa up to 5,000 mm, on the western slopes of the Oriente in some cases even more than 6,000 mm. In the Sierra, only 250-500 mm of precipitation fall in the basin annually, while the altitudes often receive more than 2,000 mm.

Best travel time for Ecuador

Canoe tours in Ecuador are best done in the rainy season, when the water level is high, while the drier season is better for trekking.

On the coast, the rainy season (around January to May) is characterized by sunny days with afternoon rainfall. From June to August, many American vacationers come to the area for beach vacations.

The Galápagos Islands are suitable for wildlife viewing all year round, with January to April being the best time for snorkeling. If you are prone to seasickness, avoid the rough seas between July and October.

The tourist high season in Ecuador is between mid-December to January and June to August – this is when accommodation prices are highest and reservations are recommended.

Every city and village in Ecuador has local festivals that are celebrated with fireworks, alcohol, music and dancing. Here it is worthwhile to plan the trip accordingly. Some of the largest are the Good Friday procession in Quito, Corpus Christi in Pujilí or Salasaca, and the Fiesta del Yamor in Otavalo.


Guayaquil [- kil], Guayaqui, Santiago de Guayaquil, largest and economically most important city in Ecuador and the administrative seat of the province of Guayas, on the right bank of the Río Guayas, around 50 km above its confluence with the Pacific, (2010) 2.3 million residents.

Archbishopric; several universities, research institutes, museums; diverse industries (petroleum refining, chemical, iron, wood, textile, leather, food and other industries). Guayaquil is the most important port of Ecuador (water depth over 10 m), about 75% of the imports and half of the exports are handled via Guayaquil; Since 1963, Puerto Marítimo, 8 km south, has been used by sea traffic; international Airport; The end of the Quito railway is Alfaro, on the left bank of the Río Guayas (ferry connection).

Guayaquil was founded in 1537 by F. de Orellana. The city suffered severe earthquake damage in 1942.


Cuenca [ k  e ŋ ka], capital of the province Azuay, Ecuador, 2 543 m above the sea level in a high pool, (2010) 329 900 residents.

Third largest city in the country; two universities, archbishopric, several museums (including historical museum, museum of modern art, city museum with a collection of Indian art); most important trade center in South Ecuador; Weaving, ceramic and jewelry industries; Airport.

The colonial city center (UNESCO World Heritage Site) is dominated by the monastery and church “La Concepción” (founded in 1599) and the monastery of the Carmelites “Monasterio del Carmen de la Asunción” (founded in 1682).

Cuenca was founded by the Spanish in 1557.

Santo Domingo

Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo de los Colorados, capital of the Province of Santo Domingo de los Tsáchilas, Ecuador, between Quito and the coast; (2010) 270 900 residents.

Catholic bishopric; Trade center for agricultural products.


Machala [-t ʃ -], capital of the province of El Oro, in an irrigated banana-growing area of ​​the coastal plain of southern Ecuador, (2010) 231,300 residents.

University; catholic bishopric; Transhipment point for agricultural goods and shrimps. The neighboring Puerto Bolívar is an important banana export port.

Ecuador Travel Guide